2022 Primary Election Results Recap

2022 Primary Election Results Recap

The Primary Election held last Tuesday, May 24 was very successful for candidates endorsed by the Alabama Association of REALTORS® Political Action Committee (ARPAC).  93% of ARPAC-endorsed candidates won or advanced to a runoff election on June 21. The endorsed candidates exhibit a commitment to home ownership, private property rights, and economic growth and development. Below are several notable races to highlight.

In statewide races, Governor Kay Ivey won mightily with 55% of the vote facing a crowded field of eight challengers. Attorney General Steve Marshall won handily with 89% of the vote. The most important race on the ballot to our members and their businesses may have been the race for Alabama Supreme Court, where Greg Cook won with 55% of the vote against a candidate that was almost 100% funded by $2 million in trial lawyer money. The Alabama REALTORS® made a strong stand for the rule of law in the Supreme Court race by using the grassroots network of our membership to get the word out and show up to vote.

In the Alabama Senate, Senators Tim Melson, Tom Butler, Randy Price, Dan Roberts, Shay Shelnutt, Linda Coleman-Madison, Greg Albritton, and Billy Beasley all won heavily contested races.

In the Alabama House, North Alabama Representatives Nathanial Ledbetter, Phillip Pettus, and Ginny Shaver defeated challengers. Birmingham Area Representatives Russell Bedsole, Jim Carns, Juandalynn Givan, Neil Rafferty, and John Rogers all won. Montgomery Area and East Alabama Representatives Prince Chestnutt, Pebblin Warren, and Debbie Wood won.  Wiregrass Representatives Rhett Marques and Jeff Sorrells were successful. South Alabama Representatives Brett Easterbrook, Sam Jones, and Matt Simpson won their respective races.

Thank you to all of our members who considered these candidates when you voted in the Primary Election. Please save the date for the Primary Runoff Election on Tuesday, June 21.