Annual Conference 2023 Recap

Annual Conference 2023 Recap

Annual Conference 2023 was one for the books! Over 300 members from across the state joined us on October 17-19, 2023 at The Lodge at Gulf State Park in beautiful Gulf Shores, Alabama. This year’s conference offered the perfect mix of business and pleasure, providing informative sessions, professional development, and  a chance to network with other real estate professionals, all while being at the beach!

Alabama REALTORS® Foundation Cornhole Tournament

The Conference kicked off on Tuesday, October 17th with a Cornhole Tournament on the beach benefitting the Alabama REALTORS® Foundation. The tournament had a great turnout, with 22 teams and 27 spectators. Thank you to all who participated and congratulations to our winners!

Aar Annual Conference 2023 0299

Annual Awards Celebration & Installation Dinner

Following a morning of friendly competition and fun, members attended the Annual Awards Celebration and Installation Dinner to hear from Keynote Speaker Bo Jackson and honor several outstanding members and the 2024 Alabama REALTORS® Executive Committee.

Bo Jackson

2023 President, RaJane Johnson, welcomed the attendees while Jason Isbell, Senior Vice President of State Government Affairs and Economic Development at Regions Bank, emceed the celebratory evening. Bruce Sanford of the Marshall County Association received the 2023 Robert Jemison Award. Morgan Ashurst of Baldwin REALTORS® received the 2023 David D. Roberts Award. Slade McElroy of the Montgomery Area Association was announced as the 2023 Alabama REALTOR® of the Year Award Recipient.


Bruce Sanford

Robert Jemison Award Recipient
Morgan County Association


Morgan Ashurst

David D. Roberts Award Recipient


Slade McElroy

2023 REALTOR® of the Year Recipient
Montgomery Area Association


The 2024 Executive Committee was installed as follows: Senia Johnson, President; Margie Beth Shaw, President – Elect; RaJane Johnson, Immediate Past President; Mary Jane Owen, Treasurer; Dedra Cabaniss, Secretary; Tina Terry, Northern Regional Vice President; Kim Harwood, North Central Regional Vice President; David Lucas, JSB Regional Vice President; Bo Evans, Central Regional Vice President; Linda Lou Parsons, Southern Regional Vice President. The Association was honored to have the National Association of REALTORS® President, Tracy Kasper, administer the oath of office to our incoming Executive Committee.

Ec Stage

General Session

General Session was held on Wednesday, October 18th and was moderated by Maura Neill, of Buy Sell Live Atlanta, and featured an all-star lineup of industry experts and leaders. Members gained insight from speakers on topics such as Artificial Intelligence, Adapting to the Changing Demand, Creating the WIN: Negotiation with Style and Strategy, and much more. Speakers included Elizabeth Mendenhall, 2018 President of NAR, Craig Grant, "The Real Estate Tech Guru", Kenya Burrell-VanWormer, of Evolve, and special guest speaker Logan Mohtashami, Lead Analyst for HousingWire.

Untitled Design (28)

Major Investor Reception

After General Session, a reception was held on the beach for ARPAC Major Investors. Major Investors are those members who invest $1,000 or more a year in the Alabama REALTORS® Political Action Committee (APRAC). These members go above and beyond to support their industry, and help us to be the leading voice of real estate in Alabama. 

Aar Annual Conference 2023 2948 Copy

Thank you to our members, speakers, and sponsors for making this conference a success! Be sure to mark your calendars for next year’s Annual Conference, which will be held October 16-18, 2024. To view more photos from the event, click the button below to visit our Facebook page.